The knights' castle of Beaufort was built between 1150 and 1650, during three different construction periods. Walter from Wiltz was the first lord of Beaufort.
After the second half of the 18th century it had been uninhabited for a long time and was only used as a quarry by the residents of the surroundings.
In 1928, the new owner of the castle, Edmond Linckels, started to undertake larger repairs and cleaning works in the castle's ruins which had been neglected for 300 years. It was also him who opened it to the public in 1932.
In 1988 the site was classified as an historical monument.
The Medieval Fort
Currently closed .
Opens its doors again
for the summer season:
1st April - 5th November 2017
from 9a.m. to 17.30p.m.
The Renaissance Castle
Guided tours on demand.
Info: (+352) 836601 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Visit Beaufort Castles!
The friends of the Beaufort Castles invite you to discover its two historical monuments, situated in the heart of the Müllerthal - also known as the Little Luxemburgish Switzerland.
Since its construction, over 360 years ago and apart from a few additions and modifications during the last centuries, Beaufort's Renaissance castle has never suffered any damage and has remained basically unchanged.
It was built by a major Luxembourger, Jean Baron de Beck. Born in 1588 in Luxembourg-Grund, Jean Beck was the son of a riding messenger of the Luxembourg Provincial Council from Saarburg in Lorraine and departed from a humble background to make a fantastic military career.
From April until beginning of November:
guided tours from Thursday to Sunday at
11a.m. and 4 p.m.
November - April guided tours only on request
Closed from 24 - 26 December, 1 January, second week of January - carnival
A visit not to be missed!
The entrance of the renaissance castle takes place at the reception of the medieval castle - not far from the car park situated along the street.